PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Costa Rica

atemi-ryu
12/31/2007 5:01pm,
Hello Bullshido! Great reads here and lots of entertaining as well as informative posts.

I've recently relocated to San Jose, Costa Rica from Miami, Florida and have the desire to start training.

I'm 37, stepfather to two kids and not seriously considering ever entering any full contact tournaments. However if I studied BJJ, I'd more than welcome the opportunity to learn and test myself in the grappling events.

The dilema I'm in however is that the Ryan Gracie BJJ school and the Sydney Machado dojo are located too far away; no reasonable schedule I can get worked out amongst my job, transportation and family responsibilities.

Which leaves me with the following choices: Tae Kwon Do, Muay Thai or JuJutsu.

I have some familiarity with the JuJutsu instructor, as he was mentored by my aikido professor in Miami. I studied aikido for about 8 months with Professor Chenique at his Hialeah dojo. That has been my one and only formal experience to the martial arts.

(I did notice that in the BS/Fraud forum, Chenique's name came up: it's included in the topic regarding Moses Powell and Sunuces Ryu. Chenique was a direct student of Powells.)

I visited the muay thai gym but my concern was that it seemed to be sparring only, and no basic instruction. The sparring is great for aliveness and realistic training, but I have zero background in boxing or kicking to get me off the ground in the proper way.

And maybe just for whatever unknown reasons, I haven't ever really given TKD much of a look; something just wasn't appealing.

With these 3 options, is there anything I should be specifically looking for during my evaluation?

Any immediate red flags or "that style is fake crap" don't do it type advice?

Thanks in advance and go easy on the NOOB.

TKDBot
12/31/2007 5:02pm,