PDA

View Full Version : Intro

nwbreneman
12/29/2007 10:23pm,
Hi,

I made a few posts without an introduction, so here is one.

First, my "martial arts" background. I am 19 now, and I had a few years of karate as a kid. When I hit age 12 and started learning a little more about Bruce Lee and JKD, I decided that Karate sucked and quit. From there, I unsuccesfully tried to learn MA through a few books. Then, I got involved with a system based in Boston called "Boabom" for a year or two that turned out to be a Chilean cult. After that, I studied Wing Chun for three months in the summer. From what I have seen, it is much better Wing Chun than most of what is out there, more "alive", but still, I realized, not nearly live enough to actually make me a fighter, which is what I've wanted to be since I was 5 and why I joined Karate. So I have given up on the Wing Chun, even if I do see some practical uses for some of it.

I go to college in western Massachussetts, and the closest good school I seem to be able to find is a FMA school. I will be checking that out. I am looking into moving to a bigger city so I can actually pursue better arts.

So you can see that my brief martial arts history, like many I have seen here, was an honest attempt that I put a lot of work into, but close to a failure. That is why I have no style or school listed.

I have enjoyed the martial arts so far, though, because I am able to fully be absorbed by what I am doing. I learn a lot, I have to think and analyze (while still using muscle memory), and it takes physical effort. I love it.

About myself, I was raised in rural northwestern Ohio. I left high school a year early to attend Bard College at Simon's Rock ( http://www.simons-rock.edu (http://www.simons-rock.edu/) ). In one more semester I will have an associate's degree. My plans after that are undecided. I am studying a mix of economics and cultural geography, but I have no major and my options are flexible.