PDA

View Full Version : In the News: the US SC and the Second amendment

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

Cuchulain82
11/27/2007 11:02am,
I thought everyone here would be interested to know that the US Supreme Court recently granted cert (meaning that they'll hear the case) in the first 2nd amendment case in 70 years. Here's the NYT link:

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/21/us/21scotus.html?fta=y

FYI- this is a big deal. I'm a law student so maybe there's a cop or a real lawyer around here who can speak to this more directly, but my understanding is that 2nd amendment cases just don't happen. Hopefully this hasn't already been posted.

-Cuch

SFGOON
11/27/2007 1:28pm,
It hasn't been posted here, but yes - this is a very big deal. I'm busy gnashing my teeth and praying to God this goes the way I want it to.

Cuchulain82
11/27/2007 2:32pm,
It hasn't been posted here, but yes - this is a very big deal. I'm busy gnashing my teeth and praying to God this goes the way I want it to.
I'm surprised no one has posted this yet. It's the first time in a long time that a gun case will be before the court. Also, the law that was struck down by the federal court was a law that was almost 30 years old (that's substantial).

This could mean a big change. 50 years ago the legal scholars pretty much agreed that the right to bear arms was within the context of "militia". Today, this seems to have changed- I'll see if I can dig up an article I read about this as backup, but more or less we do seem to be moving towards an individual right.

Phrost
11/27/2007 2:59pm,
I've been following this off and on so I'm glad you posted it.

The court, for the most part, currently seems to lean in favor of this which means unless something ridiculously unlucky happens (like one of the pro-2A justices' spouses gets shot), they're going to affirm that the 2A is an individual, not collective right.

HappyOldGuy
11/27/2007 3:33pm,
I've been following this off and on so I'm glad you posted it.