PDA

View Full Version : No longer lurking (sorry if this is too long, tho')...

Walther
11/14/2007 11:42pm,
Hey hey.
Like the earlier post said, I was tired of the large-font text and had to post.
I've been lurking without joining for at least a year now, and I dutifully read all my sticky noob posts.
Anyway, I'm Walther from NYC.
I've been training for about 7 years, never in any gym/dojo/whatever, but at school we had a little informal martial arts club with guys doing the usual *ing *un, karate, TKD, but also jujitsu, boxing, Pananandatta (sp?), muay thai and other things. I bought the Tao of JKD and started working hard w/ these guys. Always kept it street/combat oriented, alive, and lots of full-contact NHB sparring and marathon grappling sessions. Since I don't really have a "style" lets say my stand up game is basically MT with a little Karate. On the ground I don't see much meaningful distiction between "styles" eg: wrestling, jujitsu, sambo or whatever and I just call it grappling. Gotta say, some of those sambo leglocks are nasty, and many BJJ guys don't know 'em!

Around the same time I hooked up w/ a guy teaching (again, informally out of a church's gym) "Classical" fencing, which is basically the Olympic-style weapons (foil, epee, saber), but oriented towards duelling, not competition. I can go on at some length about the disctinction between competitive and classical fencing, if anyone wants to know. I was frankly wary of taking up fencing, as nobody walks around w/ a rapier nowadays, but I figured "Bruce Lee did it" and jumped in. It's fun, and taught me a thing or two about weapons play - many techniques carry over to the baton or staff.