PDA

View Full Version : wbfgr = noob

wbfgr
9/26/2007 11:51am,
Greets or whatever the appropriate social custom.
Yes I am a noob to the forum, goes w/o saying, I digress

I am also a noob to martial arts. I am taking an aerobics class
(col.req.) that incorporates basic kickboxing crap which causes
me frustration on several levels.

Being the geek that I am, I choose the 'research' method.

Being a child of the '50's-'60s a forum-site called "No BS..." appeals to me.
That pretty much sums it up.

WBF :glasses1:

BJJbot
9/26/2007 11:52am,
BULL RUSH ON wbfgr!!!

ViciousFlamingo
9/26/2007 11:59am,
Welcome to Bullshido. There are plenty of posters here who would be happy to help you pick out some good arts to try out.

What do you want to learn a martial art for, and what kind of preferences do you have? (Grappling or striking, standing or ground, etc.)

p_mikos
9/26/2007 12:07pm,
Howdy, I too am a noob. Welcome to the forums!

Where are you from?

wbfgr
9/26/2007 2:38pm,
I could be accused of being a 'Jersey-Girl' but that's inaccurate
because (-3months) all my life I have been spoiled by the
Great Lakes.

What MA style? It is not so much a question of style per se as
priorities & goals.

1. Fight age tooth & nail.
2. Reap maximum mental benefits of physical exertion.
3. Minimize detrimental effects of hypervigilance.
4. Increase stamina & endurance
5. Parse 1-4 into some adult fun (I have forgotton what that is)

I was a dance teacher many moons ago.
The structure of kickboxing moves in my class frustraits
the living crap outa me because to me they are counter-intuitive.
They are not taught, they are demonstraited and then thrown
at us, full tilt.

I put forth an honest, determined effort and leave this class
wanting to hurt something. This feeling lasts for 3-4 hours,
then is replaced by the need to isolate myself to recover.

Has anyone else experienced this attitude shift?
Is is a function of being new to this sort of body movement?