PDA

View Full Version : Why we do, What we do

Ronin
9/26/2003 8:10am,
As a newbie, I thought this would be a nice why to introduce myself.
Why do we do, what we do?
Be it Karate, Judo, Brasilian jujutsu, MMA, Taijiquan, etc.
We all have reasons for doing it, or at least we should.
Why we do the art we choose is really the defining reason on HOW we do it.
DO we do it for sport? for the artistic vale? for exercise? to keep or head attached to our necks??
Why we do it also dictates what we do, if we are looking for something to give us a workout, we may not coose Taiji for example, if we are looking for something to relax us, we probably would not choose any of the full contact styles.
I can only speak for myself:
I started when I was 8, I am 34 now ( no grandpa jokes please).
I was raised in Europe, Karate was my first art ( Kyokushinkai)and in europe in the 70s and 80s, karate training meant fighting.
Boxed as a teenager ( under 18 amat. Eurpean lightweight champion)
Moved to Canada and joined the Military ( Airborne active duty Balkans).
University ( Degree in Physics, major bio mechanics)
I bounced while in university ( yeah, great way to find out what works, the hard way ).
Worked in asia for a year ( boy did I see some serious **** there).
Currently I work for a private security firm ( excutive protection).
Arts I have studied:
Karate, Boxing, Jujutsu, Muay Thai, Hung Gar, Kenjutsu, etc.
Systems I have be exposed to: SCARS, Real Fighting ( Peyton Quinn).
I can tell you this:
As a an ex-military, ex-bouncer who stands at 5'-6" and weights 170lbs, I took martial arts for 1 reason: SURVIVAL
My humble opinion:
Size does NOT matter THAT much.
LEARN to hit like you mean it.
LEARN to PROS and CONS of grappling.
No matter how good you are, there is ALWAYS someone BETTER !!!
That is my opinion.
Nice to be here.

PizDoff
9/26/2003 8:31am,
Welcome, please register with DRD for access to the senior citizen's forum.

Are you in Canada now?

--