PDA

View Full Version : Looking for NYC XMA/Wushu schools [first post]

Pages : [1] 2

immakiku
7/26/2007 2:05pm,
Hey guys. I'm a newbie in Manhattan, New York, looking for a good XMA/Wushu school to take up as a hobby. You can basically regard me as a complete newbie, but I do train BJJ and basic, non-sparring striking every week (basically we pretend to punch and kick pads harhar). I've tried Capoeira before too and I liked it because it was fun, but it was too expensive so I dropped it. As for bacon... not a big fan of pork, but it sure tastes good!

Anyway I would appreciate if someone could recommend some schools where I can learn flexibility/flashy stunts. I'm not looking for fighting/medidation/whatnot - just performance martial arts. It's also going to be purely a hobby - I'm not looking to be a stuntman or anything, but watching people do parkour sure makes me itchy to do the same flips whenever I'm on a lawn or something. And because it's a only hobby I want to restrict myself to a place that doesn't require a huge annual fee, but rather places that I can pay whenever
I go train.

Even if nobody has any idea, could someone give hints on how I would research this on my own? What do I look out for when a) online b) visiting the schools? Thanks in advance!

BJJbot
7/26/2007 2:06pm,
Welcome to Bullshido, the best Martial Arts forum on the entire Internet, immakiku. Seriously, you won't regret your choice to join us. We're a great bunch of folks, except for Hannibal. And Sirc. And TaiGip. And MMA Kid. And... well, you get the point.

Phrost
7/26/2007 3:20pm,
Hey man, saw your post on SA.

Hopefully someone will come along with a link to a directory of good Wushu schools in NYC, or even better, first hand experience with one or more of them.

Don't we have a few CMA guys in the NY area?

ojgsxr6
7/26/2007 3:33pm,
I don't know how close you are to this, but check out www.fighthouse.com

Dak
7/26/2007 3:37pm,