PDA

View Full Version : Unrealistic Jeet Kune Do Concepts Techniques

Jerry_Goldman
6/28/2007 6:05am,
Hello all, I am new to the martial arts. I have been practicing JKD concepts for only a few months. I just have a few questions and am wanting to get some opinions on some questions I am wanting to ask. First off, does drills like hubud, sumbrada, and numerada help develop any attributes in empty hands and weapons. I have done such drills and I suck ass at them. I have watched dog brothers stick fighting matches and dont see any such things as hubud or all the fancy disarms. I tell my instructor such things dont relate to real fighting or sparring this and he tells me such drills are necessary and develop attributes such as timing, coordination, and distancing and that I need to do these drills more. Is my instructor off his rocker?
Second, my instructor makes us do complex JKD trapping and crossada drills. I dont see things like this pulled off in the UFC, Pride, Full Contact Muay Thai matches, Savate, or even full contact karate. If gunting or crossada was effective, wouldnt arts like Muay Thai, Boxing, Savate, or MMA have Adopted them. My instructor tells me they are effective and that I need more training in such techniques to make them work. Again, is he being unrealistic.
Third, my instructor does isolation training. Like making us work on the JAB for 4 to six months and no other techniques thrown in except for bobbing, slipping, and weaving. This the only type of sparring we are allowed to do for six months then we can add a cross for a few months, then an uppercut, then a hook, and so forth. Is this type of training bullcrap? I think this type of training serves no purpose as it slows my learning down and doesnt teach a person to fight in combinations early on his or her training?