PDA

View Full Version : New to shodan and this place.

Pages : [1] 2 3

Sakura
6/15/2007 2:07pm,
I happened to run across this place and liked what I saw. I've been looking for a forum where I can learn more not just about my style, but other styles. I don't believe that there is any one style that is necessarily better than any other. It is all dependent on the skill and dedication of the student.

I am a student of Shorinryu Matsumura Seito (traditional Okinawan) karate. I studied a year and half in high school, left for seven years, and came back four years ago. Since then, I've dropped 85 pounds, found a new confidence, and was just awarded shodan on June 2. As of now, I am the only woman black belt at the dojo. We had one woman just ahead of me get to 1st Dan - then she dropped out because of an attitude snit. I can't believe she got that far to drop out. Karate has become an almost consuming addiction with me now....my life revolves around the dojo. I couldn't imagine leaving.

Sakura

OmegaBot
6/15/2007 2:08pm,
BULL RUSH ON Sakura!!!

Wolf
6/15/2007 2:25pm,
Welcome aboard. I hope you have a thick skin. This is a tough place, but as long as you can take a joke (mostly bad ones) and can defend your points well you should do fine.

Sakura
6/15/2007 2:35pm,
I have to have a thick skin....

1) Many men seem to think that women are made of glass and won't hit you hard enough. How am I supposed to body-toughen if they won't touch me?

2) I grew up with and older and younger brother - no sisters. You learn to take a LOT - I can even show the scars.

Sakura

Boyd
6/15/2007 3:41pm,
"Body-toughen".

You know if this thread were anywhere but Newbietown I'd being teeing off furiously on your clumsy karate nomenclature, right?

Wolf
6/15/2007 4:01pm,
I have to have a thick skin....

1) Many men seem to think that women are made of glass and won't hit you hard enough. How am I supposed to body-toughen if they won't touch me?