PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Englander

T/C Danny
4/25/2007 7:45pm,
Hello everyone,

Love the site! I'm a student who is at home due to ill health and who hasn't been able to train for six months which has been V annoying. University is in Aberystwyth (doubt if anyones heard of is but its worth a shot!) and home is in Brackley, near Oxford.

When not having a Crohn's flair up I train in Tiger/Crane Combination kung fu which is basically very similar to Southern White Crane. I also enjoy practicing boxing, thai boxing and judo. Just before I got ill I had my first san shou fight (semi contact) and really enjoyed it. When I'm better I want to fight full contact san shou and also enter some judo tournerments. I'm a huge fan of MMA and my favorate fighter is Fedor.

Anyways, enough waffle, hello!

Danny

BJJbot
4/25/2007 7:46pm,
Welcome to the Bullshido Forums T/C Danny... Make sure you review your dojo (http://www.bullshido.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=83) and add it to your user control panel so you can get the http://www.bullshido.net/images/dojoreview1.gif icon in your user info bar in your posts.

PirateJon
4/26/2007 2:52pm,
Welcome aboard.

Just curious, but how do find your kung-fu helps/hinders the full contact fighting?

T/C Danny
4/29/2007 3:54pm,
Cheers BJJbot, I've had a go at that.

Welcome aboard.

Just curious, but how do find your kung-fu helps/hinders the full contact fighting?

Personally I've found it has helped me hugely. My kung fu instructor used to be a boxer so he's good at showing me how to incorperate the principles of our kung fu in boxing. For example, in our forms we keep the chin locked in whilest performing them which is obviously important in boxing and fighting generally as a blow on the chin can easily score a KO (as I've found!)