PDA

View Full Version : Introducing myself

officerha
4/17/2007 6:26pm,
Hello, I'm a high school grad from OH (boring state if you ask me) bout' to go off to college. I'm half korean and my primary art was Soo Bahk Do until I left my school (financial reasons and I wanted to strike out on my own) since I was six (I'm 18 now). I figured I might add some information about Soo Bahk Do, before people mistake it for TKD.

What my school looked like
Our school was basically a wood floor with a basement for changing along with a mat in which the advanced students would bring up to roll on. The surroundings were clean and plain, it had an overall "old-school" feel to it.

Curriculum
Most of the terms spoken for techniques are said in korean, such as Dojang, Soo Bahk (our salute term but the korean translation ironically means watermelon, no joke) etc. Lots of kicking was done at our school as a typical korean martial art, even more so than other Soo Bahk Do Schools. Along with kicks and hand strikes, there were also coreagraphed sparring sets along with hyungs(forms,kata) and self defense where if attacker does this, you do this, but you do it with speed and efficiency.

In terms of sparring, we don't use any protection but we try to keep the contact down so we don't whale on each other. Much emphasis is taken on control and speed over brute force. But if you got hit, you learned from it and sucked it up. Matches between dans (black belts) can resemble three degrees to full contact.

No weapons training at all, just practical hand to hand combat if you call spinning kicks practical.

Also, no grappling (gasp!), but we did have freestyle self defense, which only the dan members are allowed to do.

It also takes dedication to get a black belt, took me nine years to get mine.

Pro's and cons of Soo Bahk Do