PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Syphilis
4/12/2007 3:08pm,
Hi, my name is Thomas and I'm new here.

I started learning Wing Chun not associated with any institution at about 18, very irregularly and unofficial. I attended some workshops in the Netherlands, too.

At twenty one I moved to the United States and began Tae Kwon Do in Huntington, West Virgina. I attend Marshall University there so the club there was excellent to meet people and to get involved in Martial Arts. We are associated under Master Chong Wong Kim who has a school further down the road where he teaches. We go there once a month but we're mostly left to our own devices with black belts from various other schools that know Master Kim etcetera.

His main school is definately a mcdojo. Some of the instructors and higher ups are fat
and old and never spar, other blackbelts are 12 years old. Their teaching is often horrible as they can only remember how to do things 'in the form' :gonk:. some of his blackbelts however, are in very good shape and consequently, are very good at what they do. (These are younger men 25-30's)

However, since we practice three times a week on our own, we do a lot more than just forms -we spar every session. (Unless it has been a rough week -lots of tests etc for everyone when we just kindoff chill -we're students)

When we're at his dojang Master Kim oversees us personally. He is very strict on us and makes us train much harder than the people at his school. Consequently,
we're much better at anything we do than the regulars there. He also urges us to fight as much tournaments etc as we can. Also, he has us currently teach the white belt things to a group of underpriviledged children at a local club.

The most important thing here is: we do not pay, except for belt tests. We do not pay a monthly fee.