PDA

View Full Version : martial arts and body problems

Pages : [1] 2

drummingman
2/28/2007 5:17am,
i have realy bad tendinitis in both of my wrists and im looking to study an effective martial art.i want something that will be great for self defense but won't kill my body in the process.any suggestions?
im a drummer by trade so i can't risk screwing up my wrists or ankles to where i can't play.but i reall want to take a effective martial art.

Nick K
2/28/2007 5:20am,
Savate?

sochin101
2/28/2007 5:53am,
i have realy bad tendinitis in both of my wrists and im looking to study an effective martial art.i want something that will be great for self defense but won't kill my body in the process.any suggestions?
im a drummer by trade so i can't risk screwing up my wrists or ankles to where i can't play.but i reall want to take a effective martial art.

hi dude... you've posted about the effectiveness of Aikido... I wouldn't consider aikido if you have bad wrists... or indeed any art that's going to look at hyper-extension as a normal part of training. You can't drum with a bad shoulder or elbow either, I guess? I would guess (depending on how bad your wrists are) that puts other grappling arts out of the question.

I'd say boxing is your best bet... make sure you use wrist supports or handwraps to help bolster your wrists. This also answers your self-defence question from the other threads, too.

jtkarate
2/28/2007 6:16am,
If your worried about wrist and ankle injuries do not go with aikido . Try some form of grappling like jiu-jitsu, judo or even wrestling,...hell even go with karate if you have any good instructors in the area. But as sochin 101 said make sure to tape up for protection in whichever one you do.

drummingman
2/28/2007 6:31am,
thanks guys.i have thought about striking arts before because of my wrist problems.