PDA

View Full Version : It does NOT suck to be me

Punisher
8/04/2003 10:43pm,
Well, well, well, what a difference a few hours can make.

This morning I was an unemployed engineer who also loves to do martial arts. A neck injury causing car accident and an apparent hernia had basically put my training on hold, and forced me to a life of getting soft watching tv and thinking of new and interesting ways to tell people how my girlfriend provides the enitre financial support of our household.

Now I am pleased to report, as mentioned earlier, that the severity of my hernia was overdiagnosed and surgery is not required and only a minimal lay off from training is required.

Better yet, I now have a job. The guy that diagnosed me with the hernia was who my new employer sent me to for my preemployment physical. I didn't mention that part, because I hadn't offically been offered the job yet and I didn't want to jinx anything.

Anyway, after I got home from my regular doctor today, I was told that I passed my physical and drug screen and the job was offically now mine. I am now the new Air Quality Engineer in a local air quality managment district. The is by far the best and most exciting job opportunity I ever had, I can't wait to get started next monday.

Now for the slightly sadder side. Being unemployed obivously gave me a lot of free time. Maybe too much. Time that I happly passed here at Bullshido. Of the last six months or so I can honestly say I had a lot of fun and actually learned so stuff here on the boards. Several posters opened my eyes to new ways of thinking and for that I am eternally gratefully. Regretfully, my new job is going to cut way into my forum time, and it is very likely I will soon be a much less frequent contributor to the site. It may be a small price to pay, but I will miss a lot of this stuff.