PDA

View Full Version : Eh what up?

DarkXacreD
11/29/2006 11:54pm,
I joined a few days ago. Just saying hi.

Let's see here..
I'm Chinese, obese, and balding. In my spare time I like to chain smoke, gamble, and guzzle cheap beer.

j/k

I'm currently a film student at Ryerson University, Toronto ON.

I've lived mostly in Hong Kong and I've been trained mostly in 3 martial arts; all of which are generally bashed by functional martial arts enthusiasts: wing chun, tae kwon do, and (Chen style) tai chi.

I've also tried my hand at JKD (I have no idea what sort, I'm guess jun fan or something) and wushu.

I'd say I've gotten the most out of wing chun, and achieved the most out of tai chi. The concepts and techniques from those two martial arts kept me slightly ahead of the game in tae kwon do (but maybe it was just a McDojo).

Either way, having won a number of forms competitions for tai chi (I'm technically a world class athlete, but competitions in mainland China don't really count, do they?), I came to the conclusion that hand-to-hand combat was obselete and turned my back on it to pursue my interest in martial arts tricks and other show/performance orientated martial arts styles.

However, being one who strives to be as well-rounded as possible in all respects (choosing courses in school was so damn hard, it's not even funny), I wish to rekindle, and further improve my abilities in terms of functional martial art skills.

I'm currently planning on checking out www.ultimatemartialarts.ca for MMA classes. Does anyone train there/knowingly doesn't train there?

ViciousFlamingo
11/29/2006 11:55pm,
Sorry, can't help you there, but welcome to Bullshido, hope the MMA gym works out for you.

MacWombat
11/30/2006 12:08am,
Same, but welcome to Bullshido.

ViciousFlamingo
11/30/2006 12:16am,
Whooo, the Bullshido Welcome Committee is back in business! Now where's RunningDog?

MacWombat
11/30/2006 12:25am,
Probably killing some chunners. He's the Blade of the WC world now.