PDA

View Full Version : BJJ for dummies, please?

Agis Silverfish
11/13/2006 6:13am,
Hello.

I've been training BJJ for a few months now, and I love it. I started because you recommended it to me, so thank you very much. I am learning new things everyday, but I still have to put it all together in my mind.

My question is: Could you provide a list of basic BJJ do's and don't's?

Thank you.

Lu Tze
11/13/2006 7:26am,
1. Don't
2. Ask
3. The
4. Internet
5. Ask
6. Your
7. Coach

Teh El Macho
11/13/2006 8:46am,
Hello.

I've been training BJJ for a few months now, and I love it. I started because you recommended it to me, so thank you very much. I am learning new things everyday, but I still have to put it all together in my mind.Dude, just keep a log of what you do at every class, what you learned, what occurred during rolling, if you were submitted and how and why, write notes on what you are having problems with.

More importantly, be aware of the questions you want to ask, and ask them to your instructor. Just keep a log, methodically and to last nitty gritty detail, and then at the end of the week, see what you did during that week.

My question is: Could you provide a list of basic BJJ do's and don't's?

Thank you.

Lu Tze preciously captured a good list of WHAT NOT TO DO... specially if you have been training for several months already. C'mon dude. I'm pretty sure your instructor could answer specific questions right after class much, much, much better than anyone on the internet can answer incredibly vague questions.

Shawarma
11/13/2006 9:11am,
My best noob tip: When pinned, get up on your side, not flat on your back. My defense increased 300% as soon as I realized this was a good idea.

PirateJon
11/13/2006 10:39am,
Do: Shower daily.

Don't: Have a nasty fungus or a smelly gi.

RoninPimp
11/13/2006 10:46am,
Tap fast.

Try what you're taught, even if you screw it up and get tapped.

chingythingy
11/13/2006 11:13am,