PDA

View Full Version : Just started BJJ at Renzo's

goosetherumfoodle
11/13/2006 2:36am,
I've been reading these forums for a while but I figured I should make a newbie post since I hadn't yet.

I'm a sophomore philosophy major at sarah lawrence college. When I was younger I tried just about every sport my I could but I never liked team sports. Eventually I found and stuck with racing formula 3s and fencing sabre. I fenced for three or four years and it kept me in shape but there wasn't really any way for me to fence when I got to college so I just sat around on my ass for my freshman year. I decided that I needed to get off my ass and get back into a sport. I liked fencing but it was really impractical, when people would start fights with me I would always instinctively go into my fencing stance, which just made me look like an idiot. I decided to get into a more practical martial art and after reading up on sites like this I decided on BJJ.

I've been going to Renzo Gracie's academy in nyc for a little over two months now. I don't get to go as often as I would like, only about two times a week, but it's better than nothing. I've been thinking about doing muay tai lessons once a week on top of that too, which I should be starting soon.

that's my intro.

Oh, question: Would it be better to try and up my BJJ to three times a week or do it two times a week and get one time of Muay Tai in? I have a couple friends at my gym who do muay tai and I would really like to get into it at some point, but since my time is limited, due to schoolwork, I have to choose between an extra BJJ day or the muay tai.

alex
11/13/2006 3:52am,
drop philosophy and do the muay thai imo, since philosophy is about as useful as covering your tits in cowshit and smashing your face into a metal bucket all day

slideyfoot
11/13/2006 4:34am,