PDA

View Full Version : Intervention Training / Breaking up fights

PhilBaby
11/11/2006 11:38am,
Our training group is reorganizing and we've been doing a lot of thinking about how to turn our Silat training more alive and less traditional and a question came up that we hadn't thought of.

Since I started training I have been in very few fights in teh str33t, but I have broken up quite a few. However, in any seminar/video/training I have seen, I have never run across any techniques, drills or sparring related to breaking up fights.

Considering the number of bouncers and LEOs involved in the martial arts, or just concerned bystanders I would think this would be more prevalent.

Aside from simply jumping in on two people training and trying to separate them, does anyone train in breaking up fights, and if so how?

p.s. SEARCH FUNCTION N00B! / WRONG FORUM N00B! there, I said it first.

DdlR
11/12/2006 5:01am,
Russian Systema, which is at least partly derived from executive protection (bodyguard) training, includes a number of drills that could be adapted towards this kind of intervention.

The thing to remember when researching Systema is that virtually all of their "drills" are improvised rather than pre-set, so they are showing examples of what can be done rather than saying "this is exactly what you have to do". The little that I have seen of their bodyguard exercises are technically subtle rather than athletic or showy and the drills tend to demonstrate similar tactics but with a wide range of technical options.

RuledByEnmity
11/12/2006 8:44am,
Each fight is about something different with completely different people. To think there is a common factor in all street fights and a certain way to stop them doesn't make much sense.

Magnustampa
11/12/2006 9:05am,