PDA

View Full Version : "Flow Grappling" is my mma gym heading towards bullshido?

Niceguy
10/23/2006 11:09pm,
I posted this in the grappling forum but thought it was also applicable to this one as well and this one seems much more active.

Let me start off by saying I have been training at this gym for around 2 years for roughly 6 hours a week and it has improved my skills tremendously.

Typical class used to do about 1.5 hours of drilling and about .5 hours of sparring per session.

We have a few pro fighters in our gym, some who have had some success in small local shows and smaller promotions like KOTC.

Recently my instructor and several students have become supporters of what they call "flow grappling" which has supplanted just regular old no gi grappling sparring. (We still spar standing up as we always have).

I will describe "flow grappling" as sparring in which you let your opponent work a move against you and then counter it.

So say I am in someones guard and he goes for an arm bar during a "flow grappling" session, I am supposed to let him get the armbar and then work the escape. Likewise he will let me pass his guard and then I will let him work to get his guard back. As opposed to a regular sparring session where If smell a submission coming I will just pull my arm away or what not.

The problem I have with this is that we are only supposed to be going at 25% speed and letting our "flow grappling" partners get moves on us that we normally would not. So a new guy is getting armbars on me because I am letting him, as opposed to the normal chain of events of me passing his guard and tapping him out in about a minute or I am lettin newbs escape from my mount, when I would normaly control them for the mount or cross body for the entire 5 min round.