PDA

View Full Version : Noob here.

geminione
10/23/2006 8:55am,
:cussing: :angryfire

Hello. After reading the rules for this place, I am preparing myself for the ass reaming I may be deserving of. I wish I could introduce myself under better terms but, I'm not going to lie...I'm pissed. A little background...

I have been practicing at a local school for a little over 6 months now. The main style emphasized is TKD with a little of Kung Fo/ Kempo/Karate thrown into the mix. I will freely admit that when I signed up for instruction I knew diddly-squat about martial arts in general, not to mention the seedy business side of things. All I knew was that MA was something I wanted to be a part of (Yep, they saw me coming a mile away).

Well, I paid for a inital two week trial period and then plunked down 500 bucks for a years instruction and agreed to pay a set amount every month. Then came the equipment costs ($75.00 for a set that included hand and foot protection), then the belt fees...$45.00 for beginningers, $65.00 for advanced belts. Then in between all this comes the seminars, the touraments and goddamn black belt club, all which costs money. Don't get me wrong, I knew that instruction would not be free but, this is getting ridiculous!

Now here's the kicker. My sensei informed me that I could skip belts. BUT...I still have to pay for the belt I advance to PLUS the belt that I skip...$110 please. So, while the sensei deems me to be good enough to be advance to green belt I must stay at yellow because, as far as I can tell, I can't afford it this month.

I'm considering going in today and telling him that I no longer wish to be a student in his school as I feel that money is more important than the art to him.

Am I wrong? Has anyone else experienced anything like this? Insight is greatly appreciated.

thepower
10/23/2006 9:17am,
If it was me, Id get away from that club as soon as possible. Can you get your money back for the rest of the year.