PDA

View Full Version : Hi, everyone!

dragonlord
10/11/2006 2:38pm,
I'm not very good at introductions and stuff, but, I guess I'll just start with the main interest on this site - Martial Arts.

I started martial arts when I was very young. I learned Shaolin Kung-Fu when I was about 9...but, it wasn't from a school...it was from a neighbor...so, I guess we can pretty much scratch off this episode of my martial arts career.

My first official session at an actual certified MA school was at Hawaii Aiki Kai Hombu Dojo on Waialae Blvd. (for all da locos hea :glasses2:)

I got up to 5th kyu (yellow belt) and had to quit, because my family decided to move us to Houston-by-gawd-Texas!!! Yeeeahah!

I couldn't really find a school here that equalled my dojo in Hawaii. So, that was the end of Aikido for me. Which is too bad, because I really enjoyed practicing it.

My next venture was several Kung-Fu instructors at my temple.

The first one was this old, effeminate dude (which reflected in his kung-fu moves, as well)...us rowdy kids pretty much ran him out of the place in a matter of weeks. I don't even remember what form he taught...

The second one was a bit better. I liked his philosophy and he wasn't as girly as the first one. I don't rightly recall why he left. I think he taught Shaolin. My apologies for my lack of memory, this was ages ago.

The third one was the best. He taught Hung-Gar Kung-Fu and was really big on the whole "Chi" dealio. But, most of what he taught were "Kill Moves". So, the monks, in their infinite wisdom deemed me too "reckless" and hot tempered to learn this "dangerous art." They demanded that I meditate an hour a day for 6 months before I could practice...needless to say, that was the end of my brief affair with Hung-Gar.

I went to the Koreans soon afterwards, Tae-Kwon Do to be exact, and the Koreans were like "Anguree Gooood! Mo' Angureee!!" At that instant, I knew that in all my wanderings, I'd finally found a place where I belonged.