PDA

View Full Version : CMA that actually spars, kicks the groin, and teaches grapling

Pages : [1] 2 3

Simonthesong
9/08/2006 8:13pm,
I am a student of Hung gar. I'm also a n00b to this forum, as well as to the city of Vancouver. I was so happy to hear that there was a large school in my style here, with a famous instructor. But it was not to be! Upon checking out the local Hung gar class, which infests both universities as well as seeming to be the only gig in town, I was saddened.

Not present were application drills, chin na (not even the lamest of finger locks), or any sort of sparring. Occasionally students play at sanshou, but the lack of people pounding on eachother every class, or before and after, left a gaping hole in my heart.

Forms were practiced by people who had no grasp of funamental techniques such as how to put one's body and stance into a punch. Even the most advanced student of the class, when demonstrating Fu Hok (an advanced form in my old class), showed a lack of fa jing and understanding of the application of the moves. Upon questioning a few students later on, I learned that application was not stressed, and that those sorry forms were the main teaching tool. Furthermore, these forms seemed to resemble the ones I learned, but changed to involve more jumping around, but fewer deep stances and excercises. As well, moves had been altered to be less difficult. To their credit though, I liked the warm-up, with some badass jumping jacks.

Jeez! I want a class like my old one, only minus the psychos who actually injure their classmates after a bad day...

Anyone with something to contribute?

Odacon
9/08/2006 8:17pm,
Yes, you are very lucky this thread is in newbietown. Lurk more before you venture outside it.

WorldWarCheese
9/08/2006 8:33pm,
Lurrrrrrrrrkkkkkkk, it'll help. I promise.

pauli
9/08/2006 9:15pm,
welcome to bullshido. where was your old school, and what were classes and curriculum like?

Simonthesong
9/09/2006 2:16am,