PDA

View Full Version : Medicine by day, fighting by night

Pages : [1] 2

Hyperion
8/30/2006 12:43am,
I guess I should post an introduction here so that everyone can read it once and forget about it.

I have been training in Taekwondo for the past two years. Yes, I understand that most people here think that it's the worst style ever because they saw some guy from a mcdojo get his ass kicked because his instructor never bothered to actually teach him how to fight. People who tell me that I'm a ***** and Taekwondo isn't a real martial art because we don't fight hard should also remember to add that I'm either making up or imagining the bruised sternum, busted achilles tendon, concussion, countless dislocated toes, etc.

Anyways, I originally started training in taekwondo as a way to deal with a neurological condition, and it definitely helped. I meant knowing that I had to train harder than others, but the flip side was that once we strapped on the gloves and stepped onto the mat, none of it mattered. My first sparring match, I told the guy not to go easy on me...wound up eating a roundhouse kick to the head. Kept fighting. Definitely solidified myself as the black sheep of the department in college when I'd sit through poli-sci classes with bruises up and down my arms and shoulders from blocking axe-kicks the night before.

As I see the martial arts, we train to fight. I agree that it's about fighting, because it would be fairly stupid to spend hours practicing punching and kicking, getting kicked in the head and pulling and straining every muscle in your body otherwise. There are easier ways to impress chicks and there are easier ways to seek enlightenment. That being said, I do strongly believe that discipline is an essential part of becoming a better fighter. Every military force in the history of civilization has stressed the importance of discipline, as has every competent military writer from Sun-Tzu to Clausewitz.