PDA

View Full Version : I'm a Chi Kung Instructor

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

EULOGY
8/29/2006 10:29pm,
Hey guys, I'm a Chi Kung instructor who is also into real science and would like to share my perspective on chi. The problem with the Chi discussion is that it is one word used for many things. For example, when I do Chi Kung, I feel sensations like tingling in the palms and heat. Also, if I focus my mind somewhere, I may feel a warm ball or tingling. According to the Chinese, this is Chi. According to a scientist, this may be something else. Who's right? They both are according to their paradigm and their vernacular. However, on the other hand, when people talk about chi feats - I have been able to replicate many of these when I had little training. For example, I hit someone with a focused 3-inch punch and knocked a 215 Pound Man 20 yards back(only because he kept trying to keep his balance instead of falling or rolling backwards). I could also do the iron body with the log, stab myself in the stomach without getting cut (only with semi-sharp knives, but not a real hunter's knife), take punches to the stomach, the unbendable arm, and sit on my buttocks and not be pushed over. I could do this simply using my mental intention, knowledge of physics, and/or breathing techniques. The Chinese would also say these are Chi. However, they are two entirely different phenomena falling under the same heading. At the same time, there is a connection. They all involve focusing the mind with a firm intention, so my interpretation is that chi feats are natural abilities that come from focusing your mind on something. The tingling sensations are biological effects of deep breathing exercises combined with meditation. The exercises help you attain that focused mind and the focused mind performs the abilities.

alex
8/29/2006 10:30pm,
gimme a blunt knife and ill bet you twenty bucks i can make you bleed with it. have fun teaching parlour tricks.

wagamichi
8/29/2006 10:34pm,