PDA

View Full Version : Hi and thanks

Pages : [1] 2

LydiaC
8/24/2006 4:29am,
Another newbie here. I trained in Shotokan Karate years ago, until life/exams etc got in the way of training. I had been wanting to take it up again, and a few weeks ago got doorstepped by GKR (I know, might as well pin a "kick me for being stupid" sign to my back, in my defence I hadn't had any involvement in MA for years...but that's no excuse.)

Anyhow, I attended a couple of sessions and a few things didn't seem quite right, so I googled it and found the thread here, as well as similar threads on other forums. Needless to say, I've looked up my nearest Shotokan club and will be going there in the future.

I doubt I will have much to say here - I am not nearly hardcore enough to hang with you guys, but just wanted to say thanks for the info.

Lydia

Locu5
8/24/2006 6:50am,
Welcome, we like krotty chicks. So, if I may... why shotokan, specifically?

LydiaC
8/24/2006 7:01am,
Well, at the time, I was a kiddo, and went along to the club went it started training in a new Sports Centre near where I lived. My Dad was a boxer in the British Army, and he wanted me to take up a not too heavy contact MA. My older brother did TKD and so I didn't want to do that because he is a git, so I didn't want to be in his club where he could kick me about more than he did at home already.

I just like the culture of Shotokan - our Sensais were pretty strict, and the emphasis was on discipline and respect. My club was a KUGB one, so quite traditional.

edit: I've just realised - that sounds like my Dad wanted me to train so we could have family fights and he could knock us about - not true! - he just thought it was important for kids to have some kind of self defence/self discipline/ training.

Locu5
8/24/2006 7:03am,
And what about this new school you will be going to, are you excited about it in and of itself or does it just happen to be a shotokan school? What are you looking for out of a martial art?