PDA

View Full Version : My Intro

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

TigerEye
8/21/2006 6:24pm,
Hi Everyone,

I stumbled across this forum during a boring work day, and I loved the name so much I registered. I've been studying Shao Tao Shi Zei Kung Fu for 10 years, with some cross training in Kosho Ryu Kempo and Wing Chun. I'm eager to gain insight from other practicioners and share what I know as well. Thanks for having me.

RunningDog
8/21/2006 6:39pm,
Hi Everyone,

I stumbled across this forum during a boring work day, and I loved the name so much I registered. I've been studying Shao Tao Shi Zei Kung Fu for 10 years, with some cross training in Kosho Ryu Kempo and Wing Chun. I'm eager to gain insight from other practicioners and share what I know as well. Thanks for having me.

Good morning.
What does the kung fu involve? any fighting?
Wing chun tends to get insulted on this forum, don't worry yourself about that yet. But it might be worth reading past threads about it.

TigerEye
8/21/2006 7:13pm,
Good morning.
What does the kung fu involve? any fighting?
Wing chun tends to get insulted on this forum, don't worry yourself about that yet. But it might be worth reading past threads about it.
Shao Tao translates into Way of the Beast, and Shi Zei = Bandit Style. It has the animal system that Shaolin adopted. It's strictly a combat style, and it emphasizes techniques against multiple attackers that later become forms. Some other forms we have build speed, power and stamina. The Triads brought it to the West along with all the heroin back in the '60's.

My sifu encourages cross training, so that explains my Wing Chun and KR Kempo background. There are some good concepts in both arts that I incorporated into my fighting style. Personally, I don't enjoy fighting in a box, so I don't claim WC as my primary.

RunningDog
8/21/2006 7:20pm,