PDA

View Full Version : Howdy and stuff

rush2024
7/28/2006 2:23pm,
Ive been lurking here quite awhile, and have waited a considerable time to register, and then to finally post. I shoot IDPA and three-gun, which is clearly for another forum here.

Anyway, I studied Okinawan Karate for about two years while in college, cross trained in Ju Jitsu and Iado from what I considered to be the ultimate in Dojo in the world. I also wrestled three years in highschool, attending Gables three week training camp, Gramby camps etc., and did AAU freestyle and greco, placing somewhere at the freestyle states back in the 80's, but not medaling I remember.

Now in my Mid-30's, and after leaving the MA world for other pursuits for about 12 years, I went back to find the old dojo, but it had moved far, far away. As such, I started seraching the internet for a new place that would be related to the old dojo, or similar in styles.

Then I managed, by accident, to catch a few UFC matches, and noted that nobody used any of the stuff that I learned in Krotty those two years. Then I found Bullshido which gave me a completely different perspective on my former training.

Looking back, the dojo I was at only allowed brown belts to spar, point sparriing at that, and that we didnt go to tournaments because we "trained for war, not sport." Right. However, there was one kata competition we attended where a few of the brown belts went for the sparring, and got their asses kicked. Did I get McDojoed?

What really put me over the top was recalling one training session where the Sinsei was demonstarting a technique on me for the class, and I was suposed to put my hand behind my back somehow, and couldnt get it the way he wanted. He asked me in front of the class, "You didnt fight much as a kid, did you?"