PDA

View Full Version : Sambo or Savate/MT in GTA

Yellicopter
7/26/2006 7:29am,
Ok so I'm a martial arts noob trying to pick his first style here and I've got it narrowed down to these two places in my area that look fairly decent to my untrained eye at least.

First one's a big facility that trains all sorts of different martial arts. I understand from reading some of the posts around here that that can be a potential bullshido redflag, as can the kids classes. Is there anything about this place that screams bullshido to you? I'd mostly be interested in the MT/Savate they offer and possibly the wrestling as well.

http://www.kombatarts.com/main.html

It looks ok to me and it's like 10 mins away but what do I know at this point right.

Second place is a combat Sambo school that's a little further away. I'm actually sort of leaning toward this one right now because I understand Sambo is more of a well rounded style with groundwork, throws and striking in it. Seems like a good place to start assuming the School's decent of course.

http://www.combatsambo.ca/

So what do you think enwisened veterans of bullshido.com. Am I on the right track with my choices here or about to waste a lot of time and money? Mainly I just want a style where I actually get practical applied training/legit exercise not standing around posing for 2 hours.

If there's any other schools that seem to fall under that description that someone knows about in the west end of the greater toronto area, I'd be interested in hearing about those as well.

Omega Supreme
7/26/2006 8:06am,
Blah SAMBO is gay. You should stay away from it especially styles such as Combat SAMBO.