PDA

View Full Version : More WING CHUN stuff

Pages : [1] 2 3

Heretic
6/02/2003 2:49pm,
Great article;

"This is written for students of the Wing Chun system and potential students in order to clarify the many misconceptions regarding training methods, theories, and most of all, fighting strategies. Wing Chun is an excellent fighting system. I place myself in a position to make such a statement based on my fighting experiences in the ring and on the streets. I have also had the privilege of learning from some of the best martial arts instructors available, especially my current Sifu (instructor) Grandmaster William Cheung. Over the last 34 years I have studied numerous styles of martial arts such as Shorin Ryu in Okinawa while a US Marine, Hwa Rang Do, Jujitsu, Southern Praying Mantis, Bak Mei, Hung Ga, Baat Gua. After a period of time I started training under Sifu Duncan Leung. When Duncan Leung left NYC to move to Virginia, study began under a succession of Wing Chun instructors in NYC's Chinatown. Prominently Moy Yat, Lee Moy Shan, Alan Lamb, Henry Leung, and have trained with Wing Chun people from Hong Kong and Mainland China.
Through studying I have learned that many martial arts systems have value. Moreover, a person who studies a particular style that you may consider inferior to yours may in fact prevail over you in actual combat due to his/her spirit, tenacity, and most importantly, hard training. The most important factor that determines the effectiveness of a martial art is the person who is training in it. Even a well instructed Wing Chun practitioner might prove to be ineffective if he/she does not train diligently. You must develop a strict training regimen and stick to it. There are many different styles of Wing Chun but the Yip Man school has produced the most famous fighters, Wong Sheung Leung, William Cheung, and Bruce Lee, etc.