PDA

View Full Version : All Wing Chun Schools like this?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

Acadian fury
6/08/2006 9:07am,
Hi all, this is my fist Thread so bare with me!

I have been doing the Wing Chun For over two years now. Up until recently, i have been questioning the quality of my instruction.

Here is how our classe's go:

The first hour is used for begginers (advanced are welcome). At the Start of the class, the sifu will look around and ask a Senior of the class to do the warm up, wich is not a big problem. Then we will be instructed to start doing conditioning drills like Biu Gee, 5 star blocks and then punching and blocking transitions. Then, after all that is done, the Sifu will look around and see how many seniors are in the class and pair them up with the begginers. The sifu will then go sit down in his office doing god knows what for the remainding half hour, while the advance teach the newbies. At the end of the first hour, we will do foot work and forms.

The only time i have seen my sifu participate in a begginer class, is when new students arrive, but even then, he walks around and checks on us once or twice during the session.

The second hour is for advanced students, wHere we are supposed to learn and further our scheduled techniques. But for the lately part, all we have been doing is wrist locks, how to take out people by different wrist locks, and how to evade from chokes and bear hugs type of defence. Mind you, my sifu is a Third degree BB in JJJ, and has showed us, in the 2 years i have been there one elbow lock while on the ground.

IF there is one of the three Brown sashes there, he will relenquish the class to him. So that means Shi soa for 1\2 hour with different partners, but without any instructions or correction, we are basically supposed to learn on our own?