PDA

View Full Version : Training Every day, is it healthy and viable?

Pages : [1] 2

rino86
6/01/2006 3:02pm,
I recently started training BJJ and am really enjoying it. For the past 2 weeks I've been training everyday for 1-3 hours 5 days a week. I figured in highschool the wrestling team trains everyday, the football team etc... so it wouldn't be too terrible an idea. Many of my classmates are surprised I go everyday and I'm worried I might be pushing too hard.

I'm 19 and in pretty good shape, but I'm afraid 5 day training might cause harm. Does anyone have experience with everyday training and can give me some advice?

PS: If this is a repeat, please link the thread I tried a search and got nothing.

Zing!
6/01/2006 3:16pm,
You question can be answered with another question: how do you feel?

If you feel physically and mentally fine with training 5 days a week, then do it.

If you're sick or injured, take a couple days off. It's important to be healthy when you train.

Just make sure that your training doesn't get in the way of more important responsiblities (i.e. mealticket, paying bills, etc.).

pauli
6/01/2006 3:17pm,
at 19, the biggest problem with training every day is burning out.

rino86
6/01/2006 3:28pm,
So far burning out isn't looking likely, I still look forward to training everyday and giggle like a little japanese school girl when I roll. I have noticed some soreness and stiffness in the morning but it goes away as I get about the day so I guess as long as nothing starts really aching or losing freedom of motion I'll be Ok.

One thing I forgot to mention is I'm only doing this for 4 months, when I get back to school I will probably not have time to train all the time (ha ha).

I feel like this may be the last time in my life when I have limited responsibility and enough freedom to really practice 100% without many outside issues. I just dont want to hurt myself and waste 4 months recovering instead of training.

GoldenJonas
6/01/2006 3:28pm,