PDA

View Full Version : Gun Newbie

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

Tarendol
12/09/2005 5:36pm,
There are a lot of gun experts around this forum, so I was hoping to get some advice. I am a complete newb to guns, but I am trying to rectify that situation but can't figure out what to buy. Following the advice of pretty much everyone I got a .22 pistol (Ruger Mk. III 22/45 Target) and a .22 rifle (CZ 452 Trainer,) which will serve me well for training and plinking, but I want to get some bigger caliber guns for fun and defense. I am eventually going to get something like a .30-06 bolt action, but right now I am looking at an AR-15. I am sure I will eventually get an AK too.

My big question is about a pistol. The whole "caliber war" thing is really messing me up, I have no idea what I should get. I was thinking about a 9mm Glock 19, but I constantly hear how crappy the 9mm round is. I can handle a .45, but the ammo is more expensive.... how much of a difference does it really make? Am I being too anal retentive here? I definitely don't want to start a caliber debate; I am just looking for some help for someone new into guns (it is surprisingly difficult to start if you haven't been into guns all your life!)

Phrost
12/09/2005 6:08pm,
It depends on what you want to use the firearm for... plinking? Home defense? Concealed carry?

9mm is generally considered the smallest round you can effectively use to put someone down. But if you're just going to shoot targets, even .17 is fine. The larger the caliber, the more stopping power. So if you're worried about getting attacked by a bear... go for a .50 cal.

But I don't consider myself an expert compared to some of the people here, so give them a chance to chime in.

Japuma630
12/09/2005 6:13pm,
I started a very close thread to this one a while back... there is some good info on here http://www.bullshido.net/forums/showthread.php?t=28859

Yrkoon9
12/09/2005 6:26pm,
Forget this archaic technology.

GET A LASER GUN! PEW PEW PEW PEW!!!!