PDA

View Full Version : Going from Aikido to Ju-Jitsu truths and fallacy's

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Goju - Joe
11/30/2005 5:12pm,
I am new to BullShido and as a I am a noob I am sure I'll get a lot of insults and criticism and so on. I can take it.

I have read a lot of statements regarding Aikido pro and con that were wrong so I thought I would throw my two cents in and see what people thought.

First of all my background. I presently train in Go Ju-Jitsu which is a combination of Go Ju karate, Ju-Jitsu, shoot wrestling, boxing and anything else my sensei has picked up that he feels works (like lower leg kicks from Muay Thai) so basically it's MMA although we keep a lot of TMA stuff like kata's

I have been training for 3 1/2 years and do sparing,grappling and sport Ju-jitsu which is a highbred point system for kicks, strikes and take downs as well has hold downs and submissions. I know it's not the same thing as putting on 4 ounce gloves and beating the crap out of some one in a cage but for me I enjoy it and find it satisfies my martial art needs.

Prior to this I trained in Yoshinkai Aikido for four years

Now I am not trying to start an anti-Aikido or a pro - Aikido thread but give some opinion from someone from my own personal experience of going from a soft to hard and martial art.

So for what its worth here's my take on the on both sides of the argument..

False Anti-Aikido statement - Aikido sucks and has no practical application especially in grappling

The techniques and thought process behind it (using your opponents energy against him) is good, In grappling I have been able to pull off Aikido like moves every so often. In one of my first grappling experiences from standing I threw a green belt using a step and throw Aikido technique ( he then later kicked me really hard in the stomach during sparing, knocking the wind completely out of my which I took as a good lesson.)