PDA

View Full Version : Kids in the Martial Arts

Pages : [1] 2 3

kohainikyu
11/29/2005 6:11pm,
I recently was hired as an instructor for a youth program. It's a low income program and I'm contracted out to teach MA to kids between the ages of 5 and 15. I've been doing it for a few weeks but altogether I've been teaching MA for 5 years (at my dojo...). This is the first time I've had no immediate supervision and been able to teach what I want. I am fortunate to have had amazing training in teaching my system, not to mention I'm an education major which probably helps. I've taught at sleep away camps, daycamps, etc....

I am teaching it to these kids who really want to be there, they are the best group of kids I have ever taught, hands down. I have seen some debates on whether kids should learn MA or not or are responsible enough or not but that's not what this is about.

I was hoping to get some opinions on the most valuable things to teach children in your opinion as far as MA goes. Anything, technique, life lessons, preventative measures.... etc....

I just would like to get some others views on the topic. Let me know....

blargle
11/29/2005 6:21pm,
What type of martial art are you teaching?

kohainikyu
11/29/2005 6:23pm,
What type of martial art are you teaching?

A system I've been studying for the past 11 years. It's called Street Defense. It incorporates attributes from 12 different styles...

The basic idea behind it is two be able to identify an attacker's learned or natural style of fighting and have something to counter it.

ojgsxr6
11/29/2005 6:23pm,
I would check out this article:
http://www.bullshido.net/modules.php?name=Reviews&file=viewreview&id=170

kohainikyu
11/29/2005 6:25pm,
I would check out this article:
http://www.bullshido.net/modules.php?name=Reviews&file=viewreview&id=170

Awesome, thanks for being so helpful. That's a cool article but I also wanted to get member's personal opinions (so don't kill me for not searching!). Thanks again.