PDA

View Full Version : Halloween Fun (for the kids)

Jaguar Wong
10/28/2005 1:45am,
Here's my first attempt at a non-standard jack-o-lantern. I usually draw some funky eyes, nose and mouth and just cut it out with a large knife, but this year I got one of those pumpkin masters carving kits (those $3 disposable ones), drew my own template (because the kids wanted Jack Skellington instead of Godzilla), and just gave it a shot.

The photo's bad because I had to take it with the flash off, and I'm not a professional photographer.

http://www.brian-manning.com/images/Misc/pumpkin_skellington.jpg

I put the food post icon because it's a pumpkin.

Method2Madness
10/28/2005 9:21am,
dude thats a grea jacko lantern.

Deliciousness
10/28/2005 2:51pm,
I put the food post icon because it's a pumpkin.

I lol'd

But that is one bad ass jack o' lantern.
How long did it take ?

Jaguar Wong
10/28/2005 4:00pm,
I lol'd

But that is one bad ass jack o' lantern.
How long did it take ?

It took a while to draw the stupid thing (I drew it on a piece of paper then transfered it to the pumpkin with that perforating tool they provide). I spent like an hour with my sketchbook just figuring out what to do, then when I finally figured it out, I drew the final template in 20 minutes.

The carving was about three hours (including cleaning the pumpkin, cutting the skullcap off and gutting it with an icecream scoop). I never used those carving saws before, so I took my time to make sure I was doing it right. I got the head done in an hour and a half (I at least wanted the kids there for that part), then when I got them to bed, I finished the neck and collar and cleaned up the edges.

I think I'll have to try more than one pumpkin next year...with the Bullshido Bull and whoever the forum nemesis is (Phil, Ashida, or some newcomer).

jnp
10/28/2005 4:11pm,
The pumpkin carving fu is strong in this one.

lifetime
10/30/2005 4:22am,
That is a GREAT jack-o-lantern.

Jaguar Wong
10/30/2005 9:59pm,