PDA

View Full Version : Trying to find an art, thinking I'm screwed

Pages : [1] 2 3

Doctor Arcane
10/20/2005 5:38pm,
Ok here's the lay down, I studied the Buj for a while, mock what you will... it includes grappling, striking, weapons, old school waza/kata presented and then modern 'street fight' application henka also shown... For example, wrist lock, throw demonstrated, then "INRL, you'd have to soften them up first with some nice blows to the head and groin, lets throw those in".

So all was good. But I don't know, something changed, my dojo, me, I don't know. But weird cliques developed, more expensive special classes, all sorts of **** I just didnt want to deal with.

So. I'm looking for a new art. My first thought was Aikido, actually because I sort of dig the less competition, less ego, chill but able to dislocate shoulders without breaking a sweat atmosphere... However, according to people here and various what I've heard, a lot of the 'softer' arts have been pussied down or taken over by middle-aged white head cases (Taiji, Baqua, etc)

So then I'm left with what, Muy Thai, Krav Maga, San Shou, BJJ? I don't think I could study a pure grappling or striking art, which nixes two, cross training is effin expensive. I appreciate the skill of MMA guys, but I prefer more battlefield than 'sport'. No problem with sparring, but an art without groin strikes, what fun is that?

I don't know. Anyone have ideas? Or should I just stay home and drink heavily?

-Doc

Arde
10/20/2005 5:47pm,
You can always focus in striking or grappling or groundwork first, and then afterwards go into the other fields.
While cross training is definitely always a good thing, it might be good as well to focus in specific areas first(be it grappling, groundwork, or striking) and not trying to get muddled and confused with so many drill or techniques from cross-training so many things at once.

And it's cheaper too that way.

bwerb
10/20/2005 5:52pm,