PDA

View Full Version : hitting focus mitts

Pages : [1] 2

afronaut
8/20/2005 5:03pm,
Why is it that when I'm hitting focus mitts, especially with my jab, I feel like I'm too far from the mitt when I hit it?

Do I need to take a bigger step when I jab? Or is it normal for it to be "just out of range" and I need to get used to the distance?

Remember, I'm new to boxing and with judo, anything more than like 8 inches away might as well be a mile.

feedback
8/20/2005 9:01pm,
Why is it that when I'm hitting focus mitts, especially with my jab, I feel like I'm too far from the mitt when I hit it?

Do I need to take a bigger step when I jab? Or is it normal for it to be "just out of range" and I need to get used to the distance?

Remember, I'm new to boxing and with judo, anything more than like 8 inches away might as well be a mile.

Well, it might not be you in the first place, your holder could be shitty. They should meet your punches half-way.

But about your distancing; it depends. The jab can be thrown from almost any position, whether you're stepping forward, back, left, right, or stationary. It depends on the situation. It's up to you to decide how you're doing to position yourself for punching when doing mitts.

Oh, and you should be hitting the mitts for a 1-2 just before your arm locks out, no further.

afronaut
8/21/2005 10:47pm,
Related question: I am often reminded to take a step when jabbing, yet I rarely see anyone else (experienced or otherwise) do it when unsupervised.

Step w/ a jab -- yes or no?

Bang!
8/21/2005 10:53pm,
A really common mistake for beginner strikers is to have their force peak/terminate right around the surface of their target. Sometimes this results from the desperate desire to hit the target as soon as possible (power be damned) and sometimes it results from a simple lack of experience when it comes to hitting things.