PDA

View Full Version : Noobie, starting over

Pages : [1] 2

G.R. Bug
7/12/2005 9:32pm,
Hi -- I've been lurking here for about a year, just signed up. I thought I should introduce myself.

I studied karate for a long time, drifted out of it, and recently got an unintended wake-up call from a friend of mine, who caused me to realize that because I didn't have much experience with hard-contact training, I didn't have much serious martial arts experience, period.

Now I'm trying to get started into boxing. I haven't done much yet, due to financial issues, but i'm determined to make it work.

I'm not going to post much for awhile, but I do have one possibly worthwhile thing to say:

People here often suggest that semi-contact karate people are reluctant to acknowledge the limitations of their art because they don't want to admit they "wasted all those years" in training. I disagree. I enjoyed lots of aspects of my karate training.

No, what was tough for me was confronting the question "do I have what it takes to do some REAL training?" That's not just a question of whether you wasted time, that's a question about who you really are.

Dissipate
7/12/2005 9:50pm,
I studied karate for a long time, drifted out of it, and recently got an unintended wake-up call from a friend of mine, who caused me to realize that because I didn't have much experience with hard-contact training, I didn't have much serious martial arts experience, period.

I think that happens to alot of people in TMA. That's why I'm going for BJJ, you grapple for reals at full speed. And as far as I know in BJJ, you don't get belts for doing forms.

lawdog
7/12/2005 10:12pm,
People here often suggest that semi-contact karate people are reluctant to acknowledge the limitations of their art because they don't want to admit they "wasted all those years" in training. I disagree. I enjoyed lots of aspects of my karate training.