PDA

View Full Version : BJJ Competition questions

Deadchef
5/16/2005 9:27pm,
I'm new to BJJ and MA's in general. I had a conversation the other day with one of our purple belts who does well in competition and competes often. He was explaining to me the value of competition and that I should start competing as soon as possible. He said that you have absolutely nothing to lose and just competiting will lift your game to a whole new level. That being said, I have NO game. I have been training hard 3-5 times per week. I have a poped rib right now but it doesn't seem like it will take too long to heal. Right now I'm repping techniques over and over and not rolling live until they let me.

At what point in training would start competiting? I don't mind losing as I have no ego. A year ago I was almost 100 pounds overweight and a donut eating couch potato, so a loss in any competition is a step up. Is there a basic skill set that you would want to have in your arsenal before entering?

Thanks

Aesopian
5/16/2005 9:33pm,
Competitions have brackets for almost every experience level, so just get out there as soon as you can. I competed after 5 month. I know people who competed after 2 weeks. The sooner you compete, and the more you compete, the better.

Deadchef
5/16/2005 9:40pm,
I should also say that this purple belt said that he lost in the first round in his first 5 tourneys. He is a 150 pound beast now.

Gumby
5/16/2005 11:14pm,
Everyone you'll be competing against is most likely thinking the same exact thing as you are. You're not getting put in there against some advanced purple belt or someone like that who's going to massacre you on the mat- you're going to fight other white belts, who have similar weight, age, and training time relative to you.

I do agree that competing improves your game alot- it says alot for a man when he can control his emotions in such a stressfull environment. The biggest thing I believe you get from tournaments is confidence.

Dochter