PDA

View Full Version : Boston TKD guy needs education in reality.

fubar
5/16/2005 7:50am,
I'm a newb. I am also really old - 41. semi fit, 175 lbs. 5'11". All kinds of Tae kwon Do background , ran a school that went under , spent a long time resisting the bullshit watered down stupidity that TKD has become. All done with that. I have been exposed to other systems , judo, Aikido, Wally Jay, .

I was part of a Muay Thai Class here for a few years. I can box (western) enough to not completely embarrass myself with pretty good amatuers. I learned enough Kodokan Judo to know I can not groundfight.

Does any one know of a good ( or of any ) gyms/dojo's/clubs where a person can learn about BJJ , MMA , or whatever you think , in the Boston area - particularly the North Shore area. No video tape refferences please. Real people only.

I don't have any interest in competition , or promotion cycles/belts , except to train with those who are better than me. This does unfortunately include a very low tolerance for assholes. Some of the Thai Boxers I dealt with were not worth knowing even though they had a great deal of skill to impart. Same with Chinese Arts - no offense intended , I just don't like the "flavor" of any Kung-fu I have ever seen.

Judah Maccabee
5/16/2005 8:05am,
There's a pro-fighter on the site named J-Lau, seen here at Sherdog.com

http://www.sherdog.com/fightfinder/fightfinder.asp?fighterID=4923

He lives in Massachusetts, and will help you out big time in finding a place. I remember seeing a post about how Boston is surprisingly flush with quality MMA.

Beatdown Richie
5/16/2005 1:48pm,