PDA

View Full Version : My fellow students make me sad

Pages : [1] 2 3

Wounded Ronin
1/23/2005 2:14pm,
My fellow students make me sad. I'm a grad student at the Tulane school of public health and one of the classes that I am taking this semsester is a class in alternative medicines. The premise of the class is that alternative medicines and things like that are becoming increasingly popular in the US so it makes sense to know about them if you're going to work in a health-related field.

Last thrusday, for the class, we had a psychic come in. The psychic told this whole long story about her psychic powers, her near death OBEs, and how a peruvian shaman had cured her of epilepsy, blah blah blah.

And then she does a few readings on some of the other students. I'm watching her, and she's just doing the typical "psychic" bullcrap, where she'll make a general statement, let the subject validate it, and continue from there. Just the usual con job.

But a lot of the other students were, like, nodding and taking it all so seriously. This made me very sad. I mean, we're supposed to be in tertiary education here. We're supposed to have, somewhere along the road, developed this little thing called critical thinking.

Personally, I'm probably pretty far out in terms of alternative medicines. I practice meditation and chi kung. I once had accupuncture done on me and liked it. But it was so obvious that this "psychic" was just doing the usual bullcrap fortunetelling that any psychic would do. If I had wanted to, I could have gone up in front of the room and done the exact same thing.

I guess that learning critical thinking off the internet at places like bullshido.net pwns learning critical thinking in a classroom setting.

Smeagol
1/23/2005 3:05pm,
true.

Vargas
1/23/2005 3:41pm,