PDA

View Full Version : 10 commandments of school searching

Pages : [1] 2

Miguksaram
7/22/2004 3:08pm,
This topic was brought up on my discussion list so I thought I would share it here. It was 10 commandments of finding a school that was right for you. Feel free to add your own.

1)Thou shalt have no other hidden payments sprung onto me.

2)Thou shalt make no other inquiries about what I do for a living and charge me accordingly. I am not an ATM, but I do have a lot of friends that I can tell how bad you treated me.

3)Thou shalt not take the title Master, Grandmaster, Shihan, Soke, Kwanjangnim, Professor or Sigung in vain. If you don't have the true creditentials then don't claim it. I am not impressed with titles. I am impressed with actions.

4) Remember to keep every day I show up for your classes a holy day. It takes a lot of time, effort and energy to work a full time job, raise my kids, and still try to make it to class on time. Do not scold me for being late or missing a day. Crap happens. Yes, I appreciate you teaching what you know to me, but I may or may not be a geek about it depending on how you treat me.

5) Honor my mother, father, wife, kid, or whoever is paying your dues for who they are, not the size of their checkbook.

6)Thou shalt not kill me with 500 push-ups in the class. I am all for getting into shape, but I am not in the military for a reason. I want to learn to defend myself not to see how many push-ups can be done in one hour of time.

7)Thou shalt teach me effective techniques. I'm all for cool looking stuff (because chicks dig the cool moves) but I need to know that when Bubba comes a callin' I can effectively get myself out of the situation with minimal bodily damage.