PDA

View Full Version : Advice for wrestler?

Sabaton_fan388
6/10/2019 11:56am,
I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this thread, but here goes.
I am going into my senior year of high school, and my school may be about to start a wrestling team. I told the guy who would be one of the coaches that I would join it if they started one. I have some experience in other martial arts, but not very much. I have a lot of raw strength (425 squat, 235 bench, 275 powerclean, 440 deadlift) from football and powerlifting.
I weigh 213 or so pounds right now, and I'm six foot tall.
What advice would y'all have for me?

Sorry again if this is the wrong forum.

BJMills
6/10/2019 1:32pm,
Show up for practice. Listen to your coach.

Holy Moment
6/10/2019 1:44pm,
Show up for practice. Listen to your coach.

**** that. Here's some real advice:

HGH. All day, every day.

Holy Moment
6/10/2019 1:55pm,
Some really real advice:

Find an off-season wrestling club and start training now.

Diesel_tke
6/10/2019 3:14pm,
I am going into my senior year of high school, and my school may be about to start a wrestling team. I told the guy who would be one of the coaches that I would join it if they started one. I have some experience in other martial arts, but not very much. I have a lot of raw strength (425 squat, 235 bench, 275 powerclean, 440 deadlift) from football and powerlifting.

Best thing you can do it learn how to do a penetration step, then drill those, sprawls, footwork drills and bridges everyday till you can't do any more. You can get some footwork drills off youtube. Seriously. If your coach can give you direct instruction on some techniques go for it. Otherwise, drill those things and leave your muscle memory fresh for the coach to get where he wants it. Don't go learn a bunch of stuff that you are going to have to unlearn.

Raycetpfl
6/10/2019 4:11pm,

Well your light for 220lbs and up and heavy for 195 lbs. And under , soooo step 1: pick a weight class.