PDA

View Full Version : 44yo beginning bjj.... Got some questions and looking for advice

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Smackman
3/16/2016 2:30pm,
What kind of gi would you recommend for a beginner that has not chisen a school yet? I'm probably going to wind up in a no gi school based on schedule, but want to train gi as well and eventually try out some of the regional competitions. I'd like something comfortable and sturdy that isn't covered in patches and logos. Any suggestions? I am 6' 200 lb. Should I look at A3 or A4? Any suggestions are welcome.

submessenger
3/16/2016 3:29pm,
Welcome to Bullshido!

I have a "93 Brand" gi that is completely plain, by design. I also have a Fuji gi that has only a pair of small embroidered logos (but it came with self-apply patches). Both of them are decent gis, my preference of the 2 is the 93 Brand, they do a little better job with the drawstrings and the lapel feels much sturdier. The Fuji I've been wearing for 4 years, now, but consider that I have 3 other gis in rotation.

ermghoti
3/16/2016 3:29pm,
Your lucky day, I just stopped waffling, and got a couple of these: http://hsujudo.com/jujitsuUniforms.html

Haven't arrived yet, but they were recommended here. Just call them and tell them about your body, they'll guide you. I take an A2 in other brands, they suggested to get a 5 and shrink it, you'll probably go 6. If not, I would probably have gone with Padilla, and I might still if I end up competing.

WFMurphyPhD
3/16/2016 3:35pm,
With the exception of my nearly 20 year old Atamas that just don't want to seem to die,
I almost universally buy and wear plain white all cotton Judo gi's
that I get from Amazon for less than $50, sometimes less than $40 delivered to my door as an Amazon Prime customer.
Pro Force, Fuji, and other brands frequently go on sale on Amazon for low prices, with 2 day shipping included for "free" for Amazon Prime customers.

submessenger
3/16/2016 3:46pm,
they suggested to get a 5 and shrink it