PDA

View Full Version : staff fighting practise options?

< blank >
1/17/2016 4:09am,
I dont know if I have posted in the right spot so I apologize if that is the case as this is my first post.
now,
staff fighting practise options?

I am just beginning to get into staff fighting, and I have made myself a staff that is about jo length (it is 140cm give or take), but I do not have any one to practise with and there is no one that teaches any form of staff fighting in my area or within a distance that I could drive to on a regular to semi regular base.

so does any body have any suggestions as to how I could practise on my own?

thank you

plasma
1/21/2016 4:56am,
You say you just started. Do you have an instructor? Or say Jo Length so I assume you are studying Japanese Bojutsu? Which Ryu-ha?

goodlun
1/21/2016 3:31pm,
Oh boy

staff fighting practise options?

Staff fighting to what end?

I am just beginning to get into staff fighting, and I have made myself a staff that is about jo length (it is 140cm give or take), but I do not have any one to practise with and there is no one that teaches any form of staff fighting in my area or within a distance that I could drive to on a regular to semi regular base.

So you have a stick, but no one to fight with or learn from?

so does any body have any suggestions as to how I could practise on my own?

All your going to be able to practice is swinging a stick around. This in it self is far from "staff fighting".
To fight you have to have people to well um fight with.
In general I would say its not a great idea to gather up your buddies and start hitting each other with sticks.

Permalost
1/21/2016 3:39pm,
Any kind of fighting will require a training partner of some sort. Learning real staff fighting will likely require some serious safety gear to spar safely. What's your end-game though? To compete? To be good at fighting with a stick?