PDA

View Full Version : I just started training BJJ a week ago. What advice do you have for me?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

red_cloak
1/11/2016 12:29am,
I recently dropped out of a Wing Tsun school and joined a Gracie Barra academy. I have been training for a week, five straight days, and I'm really enjoying it so far. What advice do you have for white belts like me? What should my goals be as a white belt? What should I look to do in the closed guard position? What individual drills can I do to better my jiu-jitsu?

I look forward to all of your insights.

plasma
1/21/2016 5:09am,
http://www.ojimas.com/blog/50-killer-tips-for-bjj-white-belts.html

BKR
1/22/2016 1:30pm,
Keep training, as much as you can. Otherwise, you won't get any better.

goodlun
1/22/2016 1:39pm,
Its a silly one but listen to your instructor.
If the bjj bug has bite you and you must watch you tube, watch matches instead of instructional videos.
Rolling is about learning not winning. Don't count taps, don't worry about how often your getting tapped, don't brute strength something just to get a tap.
Be a good partner while drilling, drilling ins't rolling, but your also not suppose to be a complete noodle.
Tap early tap often, injuries keep you from training.
You are simply going to suck for a very long time.

red_cloak
1/22/2016 3:59pm,
http://www.ojimas.com/blog/50-killer-tips-for-bjj-white-belts.html

Ah, this is great! Thanks so much!

red_cloak
1/22/2016 4:01pm,
Keep training, as much as you can. Otherwise, you won't get any better.

Well, here's my plan. Right now I'm a white belt with no stripes. Since I can balance work and BJJ, I can train 7 days a week. Once I earn 3 stripes, I'll be able to add on 8 more training sessions a week. When I earn my blue belt, I can enroll into the black belt program, which means 2 more training sessions on top of everything. So, I can grow pretty quickly, as long as I get in shape and don't get injured.

red_cloak
1/22/2016 4:05pm,