PDA

View Full Version : Chin Na Rules

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

The Villain
10/13/2015 6:40pm,
I'm interested in hosting a Chin Na tournament of some sort. I wish to see what would happen, and hard sparring would do these dudes some good. I also want a way of honing standing grappling skills for my own uses.

Here's what I'm thinking:

1. Matches start standing
2. Ippon Wins
3. Submission Wins
4. No positional grappling at all. Must be submission on the ground or a stand up occurs. Either way, stand up in five seconds.
5. Finger grips are legal, but must use three or more fingers
6. All subs legal

Only real issue is whether or not to cut Ippon. Basically, the concept is to train standing and flash submission.

Permalost
10/13/2015 6:44pm,
Why call it chin na?

The Villain
10/13/2015 6:54pm,
Why call it chin na?

Because I've been studying and developing it for a while. I studied Hapkido first, through TKD. Then Taiji Capture, through video, which lead to one poor guy getting maimed in an accident. I didn't expect it to work, but it did. I just ran it through the BJJ aliveness filter. Then I studied through text Hwarangdo, which lead to an understanding of the link between leg locks and wrist locks. Then I studied Yang's crane based and tai chi based chin na through text and video. I then found the Wudang Grappling Manual, which hipped me to tiger-crane and palm change. Then I sought Yang himself, but found his lineage instead. I then studied under them privately. I then worked with them to develop a hybrid method, which I failed to sell.

So basically, my exposure to this type of fighting is chin na based and has been since 1999.

The Villain
10/13/2015 6:56pm,
Plus, as a known name in standing grappling, it's a branding thing.

The Villain
10/13/2015 7:13pm,