PDA

View Full Version : Newb Intro

Pages : [1] 2 3

FaerieGodfather
2/05/2015 11:16pm,
Didn't see a thread for this, so I hope I'm doing it right.

My name's Viktyr. I've "studied" the martial arts all my life, but I've had very little real training-- something I am hoping to eventually rectify. I'm a writer, trying to write good martial arts fantasy featuring all of the stuff this site debunks and I want to do a good job of writing real action.

I'm an Asatru-- Norse pagan-- and I've got a bad habit of injecting it into every aspect of my life. I feel a religious obligation to be an effective fighter; I carry weapons most of the time and practice regularly, but I feel that my unarmed and close-quarters combative skills are sorely underdeveloped and I'd like to do something about it. My dream is to one day open a private religious school with a well-rounded curriculum featuring physical, academic, and spiritual development.

Because my physical condition sometimes forces me to rely on a cane, I have a particular interest in FMA; I've received some free PTK lessons and I'm fascinated, but there's no teacher where I live.

That's me in a nutshell. I don't imagine I'll be posting much, except to ask questions, and I'm hoping to learn a lot.

jspeedy
2/06/2015 11:30am,