PDA

View Full Version : Uncomfortable at BJJ school (vent/need advice)

Pages : [1] 2

DaveMustaine
5/06/2004 5:21pm,
So, I started at a new school a month ago taking MT and BJJ. In this time, I have become comfortable with my MT class and I'm loving it. On the other hand, after a month, I still don't feel comfortable at BJJ class. To note, I'm the smallest, and least skilled out of everyone. Most of the guys are experienced MMA fighters, and I have no grappling experience. The problem is, when we free grapple, I feel like I'm wasting whoevers time I'm grappling with. I've ended up attending class less and less recently. Anyways, this was kinda a vent session, but I was also wondering: anyone else uncomfortable at their school? Any advice? Thx.

Deadpan Scientist
5/06/2004 5:26pm,
long version:

Dave, it's something that everyone goes though whenever they start at a new school. Try your best and focus on technique. If you feel like you aren't very good, guess what? You just started, don't expect to be tapping anyone for a while(I've been told 6 months is about when the newbishness starts wearing off and you stop feeling like an idiot, but I'm still waiting for it myself). You're not wasting anyone's time. You're there to train and learn, and you have just as much of a right to train there as anyone.

Short version:
Stop being such a whiny bitch, you're new and they're supposed to be better than you. If they weren't, you shouldn't be training there.

DJeter1234
5/06/2004 5:34pm,
just wait till somone new comes. You'll probably destroy them.

DCS
5/06/2004 5:37pm,
Be patient and go to train.

Dochter
5/06/2004 6:03pm,
Consistent bjj training can be very disheartening. Until fresh meet comes. Then there is a nice holy **** what did I just do to that guy feeling.

JBliss
5/06/2004 6:28pm,