PDA

View Full Version : I am a 1st Kyu in GKR, AMA

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

1stKyuGKR
3/23/2013 12:18pm,
Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum. Let me introduce myself. My real name will remain anonymous. However, I am a 1st Kyu student of Go Kan Ryu Karate. I live and train in Brisbane, Australia. I am 19 years old and have been training for 9 years. In case you're wondering, I am quite slow in terms of our style. Normally people reach their black belt in an average of 7 years.

I joined this forum after researching some things about my karate style. I have known for a while that GKR is somewhat frowned upon by other martial arts styles. I didn't really look into it any further until quite recently. I've since stumbled across numerous forum posts, articles, blogs and websites on the net which say a lot of very negative things about GKR.

May I just add that I have not come on here as an official representative of GKR, nor have I come on here to tell you those stories aren't true. However, what I have come on to do is to answer your questions, and hopefully, gain an understanding of the broader meta of the karate world as I do so.

I have seen a lot of forum posts which make a lot of assumptions about the way GKR is run. Most of these are true, but some of them don't have a full understanding of the way the club works. I am here to clarify, from my own experience, these assumptions. I thought those of you who are interested may find it useful to ask someone who is an actual practitioner of GKR.

I can answer questions about our technique, grading system, region structure, what we do in class, tournaments, and other general things about the style. What I CANNOT answer are questions about:
1) Specific Senseis (I will not name any names, for the sake of confidentiality)

2) The business structure of the company (I am merely a student).

3) The way the company recruits salespeople (I am merely a student).

4) How senseis are instructed to teach (I am merely a student).